JKO Tournament, Jan. 17, 2010

Posted: January 18, 2010 in Dojo Diary, Sports & Games
Tags: , ,

Here are some pics that I took while at the Japan Karate Organization (JKO) Tournament. This event was held at the San Diego Convention Center on Jan. 17, 2010. I didn’t compete this year, but helped out with the scoring and awarding for Ring #3.  After competing in a few of these tournaments, it’s nice to have a change of perspective as a spectator this time.

It was quite challenging to get some good action shots with just a Canon PowerShot A550.  For one thing, the subjects were constantly moving (naturally). I tried to anticipate key moves the moment they were about to occur, like an oncoming reverse punch, for instance. If my luck at guessing was that good, I would have won more sparring matches! I did get lucky a few times. However, the pictures turned out blurry. For fast-shutter action pics, I would have needed a high-speed camera.

Still, I’m quite satisfied with what I got. After a frustrating time trying to catch still photos, I resorted to using the video function on my camera, and was able to record two awesome kumite videos for posterity. Looks like I won’t be able to upload any of them directly here. However, when I get it up on YouTube, I’ll share the link then.  Ossu!

Copyright Anabasius 2010

Leave a Reply

